My Favourite bit of Tech!

This may come as a surprise to some, but I’m not a tech junkie. In any way, shape or form.

I do like technology, but what ever it is, it has to be more than just the latest release to catch my attention.
Also, before I get started, I’d like to say, I’m not an Apple fanboi.

Now that I have that off of my chest, my favourite bit of tech is not a camera, it’s my trusty iPod Nano Gen3.

Used iPod

One well used iPod

This is the second iPod I’ve owned, the previous having died in an unfortunate hot car dashboard incident. I’ve never really like the i range of products, they seem over priced and under featured, the marketing is excessive and etc.
The one thing they did well was the iPod nano. The build quality was indestructible (I tested it), the longevity was great and it was really user friendly.

Other than the typical abuses pocket based devices suffer, I did some exceptional things to my iPod, things that should have killed it, and me too.
The one stand out event would be when I accidentally fried it while TIG welding. Suffice to say, I wasn’t wearing my headphones at the time. The accident was pretty simple, an exposed earth lead under my welding bench and the iPod in my pocket was pressing against the wire, then I started welding. When I picked myself up off of the floor, stopped swearing and had a change of jocks, I found that all my music was gone. I thought that was end of it, one very sore leg and a dead iPod, a good result considering what the alternative could have been. When I got home, I was curious to see what would happen if I plugged it in to my computer. iTunes suggested I download the latest software for it, and once that was installed, the iPod worked just fine.

Yup, tested the indestructibility to my limit.

I still travel with this, I did briefly consider buying a new one, but the new gen seems dinky in comparison.

Oh, yeah, what am I listening to? Ms Mr – Second Hand Rapture, James Blake – Overgrown, Bring Me The Horizon – Sempiternal, The XX – Coexist, Deftones – Diamond Eyes, Birds of Tokyo – March Fires, Bat for Lashes – The Haunted Man, Alt J- An Awesome Wave. There is a few dozen more albums on there, but that is what is getting heavy rotation at the moment.

One thought on “My Favourite bit of Tech!

Leave a Reply

