Work, rest and… then work some more

20130430_151424

The above is a photo of my desk at the end of a tender.

For those who don’t know, a tender is like a quote, but a little more detailed. Our tenders are quite extensive, they say who we are, what we do, what we will do for you and how much it will cost, who will do what bit and how those people will do it, and how good we are at doing it and how well we’ve done it in the past. The resulting 400 page document gets given to the client, who then hopefully gives us the job.

Well, that’s the simplified version. If you have ever wanted to be incredibly bored, try reading this….
20130501_122644
The four bottom copies had to be printed on cheap paper just so they were thin enough to fit in the binders correctly!

Anyway, the point of this whinge is that it is an excuse.  This is the reason I have not been shooting lately, that I have not been processing lately and that I haven’t even been reading other peoples blogs.

I work in engineering, surveying and construction, I have worked all over Australia, in some very remote places and some very crowded places. I took this job because it meant I would be home most nights, spend less time working in the North West and I would get to learn some new skills.  Having come from sites where working 90hrs+ a week is normal, I thought I was prepared for the onslaught of working in an engineering office preparing tenders and other documentation. Little did I know….

Next week marks 1/3 of the way through my contract, but hopefully it marks the beginning of some more reasonable working hours. It is so incredibly frustrating driving past great photo ops everyday and not having the time or energy to stop and shoot. I don’t even put my camera in the car at the moment, there is no point.

I just can’t wait for a few days of shooting sunrises, harassing some birds and swearing at my new printer.

Leave a Reply

